2001-11-23


Jamming with MV at the 9 in New Haven. He's now playing jazz and owns an incredibly beautiful archtop. While playing "Freddie Freeloader", I'm struck by how much I miss playing music with structure. The joy of closing my eyes and blowing without the unexpected detours occurring in the rhythm section. A solid foundation over which I can float notes effortlessly. Afterward, a free Guinness and M is telling me how he wants to play chaotic free jazz. He's tired of the same old standards. We make plans for him to come up to Mass and worship at the montague mojo meat grinder.

Stop for falaffels on the way to the ocean. The man at the counter points out my afghan hat. He tells me that I must be crazy to wear it. I say, yes, I'm from the sappy valley. Tomorrow, NY. On the way back to the car I notice that I haven't seen this many acorns since the 70s.

Venus
Host
List
Next

<< ||||||||>>