2001-12-23


Wireless Dispatch.
Dateline: Branford - by the Sea.

My mother hands me a post card with a glare of suspicion not seen since I was a teenager. "This must be for you". On the card's face, an �yvind Fahlstr�m design:

On the back, a Dansk postmark and a short message: "D______, when the hell are you coming to Copenhagen? Happy Holidays - Stay afloat! - Charlie. Has it been 10 years or 10 minutes!?"

Moments later, I am on Travelocity - $399 to Copenhagen with a stop at Iceland. Daydreams of springtime in Denmark - excursions into Flanders - windmills, waffles and tulips - all urge me to click OK.

Tomorrow, the City, and parties where I am not known - ever more a Nomad - social circles flung ever further in eccentric orbits - leaving no trace.

Dear Sinter Klaus - All that I'd like for Christmas is to prepare the perfect florentine omelette, or perhaps crepes, for a kindred and hungry soul on a feverish winter's morning - lazy, white and snowy.

Venus
Host
List
Next

<< ||||||||>>