29 May 2002


Indie record review.

This morning D and I decided to listen to Gary Schneider's Just For Fun, Just For Friends album because it supposedly contained the weirdest version of 'Green Tambourine' imaginable. We chuckle at the touching album art, brace ourselves and lay the needle on the grooves - and instantly we are slain by its homemade oddness - tacky & eerie 1970s livingroom lounge complete with twinkling moog, drum machines and robot/sonovox vocals. Gary Schneider is surely NUTS, but our reactive laughter served only as a lame attempt to repudiate what was truely haunting and deeply compelling music. By the song's end I was completely charmed by what I now knew of Gary Schneider - by the tiny glimpse into this man's life. So much music I hear and feel nothing. Two hours later, D passes by my desk and I confess that the song is still firmly lodged in my head. In fact, I'm being tortured. He looks right at me and nods - "yeah, me too."

Venus
Host
List
Next

<< ||||||||>>