2001-12-04


I think it is about time to reinstall Windows98. Currently, I'm allowed approximately 50-70 mouse clicks before the entire system strokes. When it does run, I must keep track of the machine's multitude of idiosyncrasies(with new and improved quirks appearing daily), and try not to click any commands outside of the proper sequence. Once I perform an errant click, I am in Shitsville living on Crapsack Street. I struggle to maintain a massive mental database of cause/effect flow charts in order to successfully maneuver through a lively bramble of ever replicating error screens. The System is Fucked - Click OK. Severe profanities are emoted in low tones. These futile attempts at rescue are destined to fail, but they might buy me enough time to save a big project before the hard drive begins to wheeze and seize... Yes, I do believe its time to send in the Floods and wipe out this world(#3) for it has become irreparably corrupt. I am Death, Destroyer of ze Scheissen Operating System.

Afterward, bushed from my implementation of Armageddon, I will reinstall myself to a familiar place near the Sea and convene with harbor seals. Where the water will have turned from summery blue-green to wintery slate grey. Where the heavy waves smooth the sand and fill the gaps; and I begin to understand. Where the tide erodes the sand castles and delusions which I've intricately constructed and garishly furnished. Where the rhythm of the sea renders simple crystalline melodies that sail on the wind into my ears, spawning luminous blue visions of how it will be. Where, on chilly mornings, we wake in a warm soft bed of walnut, at the home of an 18th century whaling captain, laughing at his tiny doorways, younger than yesterday...

I wonder if WindowsXP can do that?


Tonight - Deep red sunset, tape transfer & Lion Stout, tomorrow - meet an early sixties editor of SWANK magazine.


Venus
Host
List
Next

<< ||||||||>>